Topics to cover in the next Ruby screencast

Update: I covered most of the topics below in the screencasts at ShowMeDo.

I really don’t know when I will have a chance to make the next Ruby screencast. Here are some of the things I’m thinking about covering. To speed things up, I will have more detailed notes and more pre-made code.

1. Regular expressions

2. More on blocks and iterators(especially how to make your own classes support each, collect, etc.)

3. Standard types in Ruby(and a note on “duck typing” )

4. Input/Output (also File Input/Output and ARGF)

5. Unit Testing, Marshaling(aka serialization, archiving),

6. Ruby in the real world(how you might use Ruby to parse log files, using open source code others have written).

7. Distributed Ruby(maybe–if I can get an interesting example working)

That’s a big wishlist. But I will hit most of these topics–hopefully.

If you have any topics you want to hear about, drop me a comment. I make no guarantees that I will incorporate these comments in the screencast (I don’t even know if I can get through the list above), but I will read your comments, and maybe just write some articles on this blog about my experiences with those topics. Just so you know, I am not very knowledgeable about multithreading, network programming, web programming, and RubyTk so I won’t bother trying to cover these.

Leave a comment